

1. INLAND RAIL COMMUNITY CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEES

As part of ARTC's open and inclusive approach to engagement, ARTC will establish Community Consultative Committees (Committees) across the Inland Rail projects.

In New South Wales there will initially be four Committees. The Committees will be established in 2018 for the Narromine to Narrabri and North Star to NSW/QLD Border greenfield projects that will be subject to a formal Environmental Impact Statement process.

Committees are recognised forums to engage with regional communities during the planning and approval, construction and operational phases of a project's lifecycle. In general, Committee meetings will be open to the public.

The aim of a Committee is to ensure representation of diverse viewpoints and community concerns. It is proposed the Committees will be established with Members selected from communities along each project's study area. Members will include those with a range of backgrounds and interests from within each community and with a balance of interests including residents, community groups, environment and businesses.

2. ROLE OF THE CHAIR

Each Committee will be facilitated by an independent person, referred to as the Chair, with the ARTC Project Team providing secretarial services and project expertise.

The Chair will be responsible for:

- Convening and running committee meetings in a fair and independent way;
- Preparing and publishing the minutes of committee meetings and a Chair summary;
- Ensuring members comply with the Committee Charter and any code of conduct;
- Resolving disputes between members;
- Preparing annual reports on the committee's activities for publication on the Department's website; and
- Liaising with key stakeholders and the Department on matters raised in committee meetings.

3. APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIR

A Chair will be appointed by the New South Wales
Department of Planning and Environment. The Chair will be
selected from an existing talent pool of suitably qualified and
experienced people. A list of the talent pool can be found at
planning.nsw.gov.au/Assess-and-Regulate/DevelopmentAssessment/Community-Consultative-Committees/
Chairpersons

4. TERM OF ENGAGEMENT

The Chair of the Committee will serve for a period of two (2) years. There will be no limit on the number of terms for which a person may serve as Chair and a person may serve as Chair of more than one Committee at the same time. If the position of Chair becomes vacant for any reason, the New South Wales Department of Planning and Environment will appoint another person into the position of the Chair in the same manner as the initial appointment.

5. REMUNERATION

The Chairs will be remunerated for their time to prepare for and attend Committee meetings.

inlandrail.com.au 1800 732 761